Burger Stop 

So I know what you’re thinking … All I ever seem to eat when go out for meals are burgers.

You’re probably right, but I think there’s a good reason for that. Over the past year in Newcastle we’ve seen an increase in American style burger restaurants – Fat Hippo, The Hop & Cleaver, Byrons and one of the most recent Burger Stop.

Last week my friend and I decided to try Burger Stop for the first time. To be honest I’d heard of it but I had no idea where it was. I’ve actually walked by it quite a few times at the bottom of Dean Street – the entrance is so small that I managed to miss it!

The inside of the restaurant is small and basic but to me that’s part of its charm. It’s not flashy or pretending to be anything it’s not. You go for a burger and you leave, there’s no need to sit around … hence the name!

The menu is just the right length. There are not hundreds of burgers to choose from so it’s not difficult to pick the right choice for you.

Personally, I think that’s a good sign because it shows that the restaurant is committed to providing quality food from a set menu rather than struggling to make 100 different items off a large menu.


I chose ‘The Big Cheese’ with fries and it was honestly one of the nicest burgers I’ve ever had!

There was a cute little touch of putting the Burger Stop stamp on top of the burger and the fries were proper home cooked ones rather than the thin nasty ones you get at fast food restaurants.

Would I recommend The Burger Stop? Absolutely! The staff are friendly, the food is lovely and it’s got a rustic American burger bar feel that I like.

Since I seem to love burgers so much I may actually make it my mission to try every burger place in Newcastle!

If you ever get the opportunity to go to Burger Stop them do it. You won’t be disappointed.

Leave a Reply

