Meal of the month: Bealim House

My friend and I meet up once a month with one mission in mind …. tasting food at restaurants we’ve never been before in Newcastle.

Since we started our little mission last year, we’ve been to places like Las Iguanas, Harry’s Bar, Dat Bar and Longhorns and we’ve had some amazing food (and alcohol). This month, it was the turn of Bealim House, a new bar, eatery and gin distillery in the centre of Newcastle.

Bealim House menu (2)

Bealim House is located in Gallowgate where the old Fluid Bar used to be and is one the latest eateries to open in the city centre. In fact, it’s the first authentic gin distillery, eatery and bar to open in the area, so you could say it’s one of a kind!

Unfortunately I had the car so I couldn’t taste the cocktail or gin delights (which sounded amazing), but the food, however, is something that I had to try and it didn’t disappoint.

I had the fish and chips, but not the traditional kind you find at fish and chip shops. The fish was covered in a smoked paprika and curry beer batter and was served with mushy peas and tartar sauce. The portion size was really good as well – it filled me up but not so much so that I felt over full.

Fish and chips at Bealim House

My friend ordered steak and chips with a garlic herb butter. I can’t really comment on how nice it was because I obviously didn’t eat any of it, but he was very happy with it and it looked amazing.

Steak and Chips at Bealim House

The overall look and feel of Bealim House is very up market. You can tell that it’s authentic and I imagine it will attract a wide range of people, from couples to families, groups of friends and football fans.

I would definitely recommend giving Bealim House a try. Despite being a little bit out of the way of the traditional drinking scene on Grey Street and the Diamond Strip, it’s very near The Gate and is well worth the short walk for a drink or some food.

If you want to know more about Bealim House visit www.bealimhouse.co.uk.

Leave a Reply

